June 13, 2021

InterMat Wrestling – Every Big Ten Coaching Hire Since 2000


Mark Manning (right) has led Nebraska since the 2000-01 season (Photo/Sam Janicki; SJanickiPhoto.com)

With the retirement of longtime Illinois head coach Jim Heffernan on Thursday, a marquee vacancy opened up in the nation’s toughest wrestling conference. While we and the rest of the wrestling world can speculate on potential replacements for Heffernan at a later date, Intermat has went through the hiring history for head coaches in the conference since 2000. They are listed below, by school.


Angel Escobedo (2018-19) replaced Duane Goldman (1992-2018)



Jim Heffernan (2009-10) replaced Mark Johnson (1992-2009)


Tom Brands (2006-07) replaced Jim Zalesky (1997-2006)

Maryland (Joined the Big Ten in (2014-15)

Alex Clemsen (2019-20) replaced Kerry McCoy (2008-2019)

Kerry McCoy (2008-19) replaced Pat Santoro (2003-08)

Pat Santoro (2003-08) replaced John McHugh (1978-03)


Sean Bormet (2018-19) replaced Joe McFarland (1999-2018)

Michigan State

Roger Chandler (2015-16) replaced Tom Minkel (1991-2015)


Brandon Eggum (2016-17) replaced J Robinson (1986-2016)

Nebraska (Joined the Big Ten in (2011-12)

Mark Manning (2000-01) replaced Tim Neumann (1985-2000)


Matt Storniolo (2015-16) replaced Drew Pariano (2010-15)

Drew Pariano (2010-15) replaced Tim Cysewski (1989-2010)

Ohio State

Tom Ryan (2006-07) replaced Russ Hellickson (1986-2006)

Penn State

Cael Sanderson (2009-10) replaced Troy Sunderland (1999-2009)


Tony Ersland (2014-15) replaced Scott Hinkel (2007-14)

Scott Hinkel (2007-14) replaced Jessie Reyes (1992-07)

Rutgers (Joined the Big Ten in (2014-15)

Scott Goodale (2007-08) replaced John Sacchi (1989-2007)


Chris Bono (2018-19) replaced Barry Davis (1993-2018)


Source link