May 17, 2021

Dennis takes first win in orderly second race at Valencia · RaceFans


Jake Dennis scored his first Formula E victory with a commanding, lights-to-flag drive in Valencia.

The second race at the Ricardo Tormo circuit was a much more straightforward affair than the one which took place 24 hours earlier. The lack of any Safety Car interruptions made it considerably easier for teams to keep on top of the energy consumption restrictions.

The day’s proceedings began on a very wet track, which improved during qualifying. Group four, the bottom of the championship, faced a much drier track than those who ran earlier, and duly claimed the Super Pole positions. Dennis had been fastest in the groups, so went out last and took pole by a huge margin.

At the start of the race, the question of whether anyone would want to lead was a big one. Those following could potentially save as much as 0.7kWh of energy per lap by slipstreaming. Alex Lynn, in second place on the grid, was in prime position to take advantage of that and play the same lying-in-wait game Nyck de Vries had yesterday.

The track was dry enough for Formula E’s first standing start since Diriyah and Dennis was able to get away with the lead. Lynn tucked in closely behind him and avoided being forced ahead of Dennis, taking advantage of his slipstream, while the rest of the pack followed, bunched into less than half a kilometre of track.

Norman Nato, who had started fifth, was able to overtake both 333 cars. These had qualified considerably higher than usual, locking out the second row. Nato followed Lynn for much of the race until he misjudged the distance into the reprofiled turn six and clipped the back of Lynn, sending his furious rival off the track and back to seventh.

Dennis led the second Valencia race from lights to flag

Nato closed the gap to Dennis ahead but was not in a position to fight him for the lead. Lynn was able to recover as cars ahead ran low on energy. Andre Lotterer, who has been penalised twice for collisions yesterday and was point-less after the first five races, moved his way up to an on-track third. Lynn then took advantage of his slipstream to handle the energy he had used on recovery.

When Nato was awarded a five-second time penalty for the contact with Lynn, Dennis controlled the race to finish with a comfortable energy margin and take the chequered flag. Lotterer and Lynn were close enough behind to inherit the remaining podium spots when Nato was demoted from second to fifth by his penalty.

Only one car failed to finish the race. Stoffel Vandoorne, second in the points, retired after a clumsy knock into the barriers with Sebastien Buemi.

The sixth race of 15 did little to change the championship order, as the top five drivers failed to add to their points tallies. Mercedes pair De Vries and Vandoorne will therefore lead the standings into the Monaco EPrix next month.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Race result

Position Driver Team
1 Jake Dennis BMW Andretti
2 Andre Lotterer Porsche
3 Alex Lynn Mahindra
4 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.Dams
5 Norman Nato Venturi
6 Rene Rast Audi
7 Jean-Éric Vergne DS Techeetah
8 Oliver Turvey NIO 333
9 Edoardo Mortara Venturi
10 Lucas di Grassi Audi
11 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.Dams
12 Max Guenther BMW Andretti
13 Nick Cassidy Virgin
14 Sam Bird Jaguar
15 Mitch Evans Jaguar
16 Nyck de Vries Mercedes
17 Tom Blomqvist NIO 333
18 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
19 Robin Frijns Virgin
20 Nico Mueller Dragon Penske
21 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon Penske
22 Antonio Felix da Costa DS Techeetah
23 Alex Sims Mahindra
DNF Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula E

Browse all Formula E articles


Source link